In the state of Florida, Personal Injury Protection, commonly called PIP coverage is required by law for every vehicle and driver on the road. According to Florida Statutes, the minimum PIP coverage that you must carry is $10,000 in medical/disability benefits, and $5,000 in death benefits.

What Does PIP Coverage Pay?

PIP benefits are paid by your insurance company on your behalf to cover injuries that you have sustained in an accident, regardless of who is at fault for causing the accident. You might notice on your insurance statement that part of the premium that you pay for your auto insurance is PIP coverage.

Standard PIP insurance covers each claimant for $10,000, and will pay about 80% of your medical bills, and 60% of your income and loss of earnings due to injuries sustained in the accident. Generally, there is a $2,000 deductible, which means you (the beneficiary) will have to pay this expense out of pocket. Your PIP benefits are available for your use until the $10,000 coverage is exhausted.

Due to a bill that was signed into law in May of 2012, you must seek medical care 14 days after your accident to be eligible for your PIP benefits. This law was designed to address the rampant fraud in PIP claims. Your doctor must certify that you are diagnosed with an “emergency medical condition” to receive the entire $10,000 available to you. If you miss the 14 day deadline, you will be limited to $2,500, even though you have paid the premium for your auto insurance that includes $10,000 in benefits.

Keep in mind: Massage and acupuncture are no longer covered under PIP as valid medical treatments for injuries sustained in an accident. Only medical treatment at licensed clinics and hospitals will be eligible under your PIP policy. Generally, your PIP insurer has 30 days after submission of your medical treatment/care to make payments to your medical providers.

If you have been injured in an accident, regardless of who is at fault, you need a personal injury attorney who knows the ins and outs of PIP coverage and has the experience with injured clients.

Consultations are FREE at Injury Florida Law Firm. You do not pay any FEES or COSTS unless you receive a recovery.  Injury Florida Law Firm will work hard to get you the PIP coverage benefits available to you.  We will also fight for you to receive the compensation that you deserve for your injuries, your pain and suffering, medical expenses and lost wages.  We will protect you from insurance company for the at-fault party so that they do not have the opportunity to take advantage of you and settle your claim for a nominal amount which is likely significantly less than what your case is really worth.

If you are injured in an automobile accident, contact Injury Florida Law Firm to represent you.  And when the adverse insurance company calls you to settle with you for $500, you can tell them call my attorneys – Injury Florida Law Firm at 813-485-8041.